top of page

Saved by donuts

2007, in Betioky-Sud, in the main street near the anti-locust center, I enjoyed a coffee and some donuts. In this small remote city of Southwestern Madagascar, the treats are rare. With this lady, who daily offers to passersby its coffee and donuts, I can enjoy some relaxing moments... off professional hassles.

For several years, I drive a research project on the Red locust in Madagascar. This species seems to pullulate more frequently and cause extensive damage. I try to identify the causes of these outbreaks. I implemented in the field several observation sites to study the biology and migrations of this species. I also tried to exploit local archives of the National anti-locust center, the CNA. And this is where the problems began.


I work with CNA staff, but despite the obvious goodwill of my Malagasy colleagues (who try to accomodate kindly my requests), the work is progressing very slowly. I thought solve the problem of the analysis of archives within weeks ... it will take me two years. Working conditions often put nerves to the test and it is sometimes difficult to stay calm. For instance, computers are often used by staff for private purposes for watching movies, listening music ... the result is that the computer network is completely saturated with viruses. It is often impossible to work more than 15 minutes on a computer without having to close all tasks and reboot. But that does not seem to bother my colleagues! My requests to consult and analyze the locust archives are immediately met... but after a while I realize that the information provided is completely wrong, and I have to make a new request and start all over again. And this scenario is repeated every day, again and again. It's tough!

This kind lady, her coffee, her donuts, the rural and friendly atmosphere that surround her stand, brought me some comfort. In the end, I still managed to use the CNA archives and draw some interesting publications. But it was not without difficulty. Obviously donuts contributed to the quality of the results.


Photos M. Lecoq :

- On the market, some donuts and coffee.

- Some shots taken on Betioky's market (arrival of the carts, the market place, seamstress and her sewing machine "Sincere").

References :

Lecoq M., Andriamaroahina T.R.Z., Solofonaina H., Gay P.E. 2011. Ecology and population dynamics of solitary Red locusts in Southern Madagascar. Journal of Orthoptera Research 20(2): 141-158.

Lecoq M., Franc A., Luong-Skovmand M.H., Raveloson A., Ravelombony V. 2006. Ecology and migration patterns of solitary red locusts, Nomadacris septemfasciata (Serv.) (Orthop., Acrididae) in southwestern Madagascar. Annales de la Société entomologique de France 42(2):197-205.

Mots-clés :

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page